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BARS 

CLUB GRADE 5 
If a gymnast swings more than the stated “swing forward and backward x 2” 
should there be VM + deduction for intermediate swing? The deduction for an 
extra swing is 0.5 (maximum deduction for up to 3 extra swings is 1.00). If the 
element is completed following up to 3 extra swings it will be credited. However, 
if there are more than 3 extra swings the value of the circle over will not be 
credited and the gymnast should get onto the bar and complete the dismount. 

    
REGIONAL GRADE 4  
If a gymnast hits / brushes the springboard or floor on the swings is there a 
deduction. Yes a deduction will be made as per FIG CoP - brush of the mat 0.5 
or a hit on the mat 1.00 
 
NATIONAL 4 BARS 
Strap bar - upstart handstand, cast to 45, 3 giants - If they swing before making 
the giant what is the deduction?  The deduction for an extra swing is 0.5 
(maximum deduction for up to 3 extra swings is 1.00). If the element is completed 
following up to 3 extra swings it will be credited. However, if there are more than 
3 swings the gymnast is stopped, the value of that giant is deducted and the 
coach can then lift her to front support so she can cast and attempt the next 
giant. This can be repeated for all subsequent giants.  

                                                                       
NATIONAL GRADE 2  
It states close bar element to 45 or above – Is the gymnast deducted if they go to 
handstand? There is no deduction for going to handstand but normal FIG 
penalties will be applied to the execution of the element. 

 
 

BEAM 

CLUB GRADE 6 
The mount is in three value parts, can we add choreography between the value 
parts to fulfill our artistry down on the beam? After consideration it was decided 
to allow artistry between the three value parts to fulfill the artistry requirement. 
 
NATIONAL GRADE 1 
‘B’ Mount - We can confirm that it is still ok to have a squat through to immediate 
Russian lever as a B mount, even though the move has recently moved from the 
mounts section into the holds section in the code. 



 
FLOOR  
 
REGIONAL GRADE 3 
Help desk 15th Feb 2015 states: Handspring to one foot-run-handspring to two 
feet. You must run (2 steps or more) and, of course, the gymnast will hurdle step 
prior to the element. You may not chasse or step.  

We will change the word “will” to may – it is not compulsory to hurdle step. 

R & C 
1. Would you expect the judges to tell the gymnast where to start again if 

they fall? The D panel can instruct the gymnast where to recommence the 

exercise as in the compulsory levels 

 
2. R&C non attempt at an element - What are the deductions in R&C for 

non-attempt of an element? Same rules apply as with the other apparatus. 

Non attempt is VM + 2.00  

 

Nat 4-1. If gymnast pikes up to handstand at beginning and does not manage to 
hold the handstand for 2 secs and then falls out, should she attempt the 1/2 turn 
split handstand? If the gymnast falls before completing the hold they will lose the 
value of the element. As the handstand hold into the half turn is valued as one 
element there would be no advantage gained from doing the half turn by itself 
and the gymnast would still incur relevant execution penalties. 

 
JUDGING  
When do we void a move, can it be repeated for value? When the skill being 
performed is not recognised by the judges as being ‘completed’ it can be 
repeated in order to gain the value of the element. If the skill is recognised as 
‘completed’ the value of the move will have been credited so there is no benefit in 
attempting it The only exception is where it actually states in the text that the 
gymnast can repeat the element in order to complete the series. 

INCOMPLETE / FAILED ATTEMPT of an element   (as FIG CoP)   Example of 
this principle           

1. Back walkover on beam the gymnast falls without the feet touching the 
beam – no element recognised so another attempt can be performed, if 
successful the move is credited 

2. The landing foot from the back walkover touches the beam before a fall 
the move is given credit and the fall is deducted 1.00 and no repetition is 
allowed. 
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